Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

deja vu

Déjà vu (pronounced en-uk-dejavu.ogg /ˈdeɪʒɑː ˈvuː/ (help·info)French fr-déjà vu.ogg /deʒa vy/ (help·info) “already seen”; is the experience of feeling sure that one has witnessed or experienced a new situation previously (an individual feels as though an event has already happened or has happened in the near past), although the exact circumstances of the previous encounter are uncertain.

Been here, ate that!

I’ve been to this place so many times, each time promising myself – and a host of others – that this weight is gone for good. I’ll never have to worry about this particular ten pounds again. It’s fresh in my mind just how much effort went into losing 10 big ones. All the careful planning, no eating after 7 PM, umteen sit ups, hydrants and crunches. I’ll feel great, look great. I’m standing taller and straighter, feel confident and satisfied with myself. And then I lose my resolve, just like that! I actually begin to feel entitled to a little extra junk dessert or bread or cheese or snack. I say, “This little bit won’t matter at all. I deserve it. I’ve done so well. I can get right back on the plan.” UGH! You would think after two hundred and twenty nine times I would have learned by now! I know better!

I know my fat cells are wide-open right now, releasing some of their holdings when I am doing it right. And gaping wide open ready to scoop up any garbage that swishes past them when I’m not. [Exactly why so many of us lose ten pounds and immidiately gain 15!] And until I lose what I need to and close up those big clappers [with common sense and a tried- and-true maintenance plan] I’ve got to be careful and conscientious and deliberate about what I put in my mouth.

I got out my WW book #1 to refresh and recommit – read the whole thing in about 20 minutes. There is SO much good information. I’m convinced that members need to read these booklets every single day to keep in mind what we signed up for, what we paid for, what we want for ourselves and our health. I often take note that members are overly concerned about getting their weekly booklet, yet they don’t ever take them out of their bag to read the material. I’ll sneak a peak at their book several weeks later and it is still in pristine condition!

To truly succeed, we need to make this second nature! Successfully losing weight and keeping it off is not an activity to do for a few weeks and then stop!

Love this:

“Don’t give up what I want most for what [I think] I want right now.”

“More die in the United States of too much food than of too little.”  ~John Kenneth Galbraith

“Fatty foods are like destiny:  they too, shape our ends.”  ~Author Unknown

May 14, 2009 - Posted by | Oh puhLEASE!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

