Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

bingo anyone?

It’s the weekend. I have time to think, time to post, time for clarity.

I was glancing through some member materials and decided to take a look at book 4, habits of successful members and took the quiz on page 6 to teach me which good habit would help me most. Surprise [not!] I need to manage my feelings. A four-way tie for second was manage my environment, manage my thoughts, monitor myself and prepare myself. Brilliant! The quiz is simply brilliant and the results are exactly true! Here’s what I learned about myself:

From birth on, people link food with enjoyment, affection, and nurturing. That’s what comfort eating is about: a strong link between feelings and food. Some people [hello!] are prone to a straight-to-the-fridge response to life’s emotions, even when they don’t realize it. It’s simply been a lifelong habit.

What it means for me:

Real life has bumps: tight deadlines, arguments, injuries, boredom, feelings of abandonment and disappointments. [liver transplants, Mothers dying] [I also have some pretty strong and crippling feelings about incest, assault and rape which, I believe, have made me think that a fat body would serve to protect me from such.] Fortunately, life also has times of celebration, excitement, and festivities which are unfortunately always often surrounded by [boatloads of] food. 

Life’s ups and downs don’t have to sabotage my weight-loss efforts. Rather, by paying attention to my body signals, I will be more in tune with whether I’m eating for food or non-food reasons. [IHINTPFINTS] [If hunger is not the problem, food is [certainly] not the solution. And an insightful comment from a leader, “If you’re not hungry, you shouldn’t be eating.”]

Signs I may need to work on this successful habit:

*If I eat more when I’m unhappy, angry, or stressed. [I call it mad, sad, bad, even glad, or a raving lunatic – sorry that one doesn’t rhyme] *If I eat for comfort. *If I overeat, I feel guilty, which often makes me overeat even more. * When I give in to food cravings. *When I’d rather eat than discuss my feelings.

Bingo, bingo, bingo, bingo and bingo!

Here’s the plan. I will recognize the real motivation behind emotional eating. [When I’m trying to accomplish an emotional need with food.] I will try to fill that need with something besides food. I will re-frame the situation when I notice certain behaviors getting in my way and I can’t seem to stop them. I will ask myself “Do I really want this? How will I feel after I eat it? Is it going to put me in a tailspin; am I going to regret my decision? Is it getting me closer to my ultimate goal?”

June 20, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

