Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

won’t power

I just totally give up and admit to myself and everyone in the world how truly hard this is. I’m discouraged, disillusioned, frustrated. Incredibly sad and disappointed in myself. People say it takes will power.

But it takes won’t power.

I appreciate this version of the serenity prayer because it puts responsibility where responsibility goes.

God grant me the serenity to accept the people I cannot change,
the courage to change the one I can,
and the wisdom to know it’s me

So if I am the only one who can change me, why can’t I change me? Why do I keep messing up, screwing around, getting down and blowing it. Why can’t I be true to my hopes and wishes and dreams of a strong, healthy and svelte body. Why do I have to sabotage my good efforts, binge and toss my self esteem and self worth in the trash? I don’t get it. Maybe I won’t get it.

I am so worn out.

June 23, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

4 Comments »

  1. You ARE doing it. You ARE worth it. You are making progress! I am so proud of you. One day at a time will give you what you want.

    Comment by tracy | June 24, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks, Tracy. Sometimes it just seems like such a long weary road to travel. And I easily get discouraged. I am working hard and I want so much to be healthy. But I’m impatient and want to be 140 pounds today. Yesterday!

      Comment by weighingmatters | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. “Success is the sum of small efforts repeated day in and day out.” You are doing that!

    Comment by Holly | June 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Sweet Holly. You are a good friend and a good support! You have encouraged me so many times. Look how many people in this valley you and Susan have encouraged along their weight-loss paths! I’m still 150 and have been for a month! But I’m feeling so much better than I did when we went to our training.

      Comment by weighingmatters | June 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

