Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

is it just me?

There are hundreds of thing all of us can should be doing to increase our good health to a level of optimum wellness.

Is it just me or are there conversations, web-sites and TV shows g.a.l.o.r.e promoting wellness?

Or is it just a case of selective hearing [and seeing?]

I remember the day I bought my first Ford Taurus. I had never really noticed that particular model before. Sure, I’d heard of it. But never really noticed one on the road. But on the way home from the dealership in my brand new car, I literally saw one thousand Ford Tauruses. I couldn’t believe how many people were driving around that very day in a car just exactly like mine.

I remember the year son Scott put up a big Cleary garage next to his home with a plaque on the front boasting the company. I had never heard of Cleray, but, sure enough, I’ve noticed hundreds of them since. They are unique and spectacular and well made, but I just had never seen them. Now I see them all the time. It’s all about the theory of selective seeing.

[Selective hearing is a way of describing the tendency of some people to ignore things that they don’t want to hear. It is not a physiological condition, as they are physically hearing the words, but their minds choose not to acknowledge the words. In many cases, the conscious mind does not appear to receive the information, so it is different than an active ignoring of speech. Instead, it is a sort of selective inattention that may be done consciously or subconsciously.]

So, Martha Stewart and her daughter Alexis promote optimum health.

Of course, Dr. Oz promotes optimum health.

The Today show often does segments on optimum health.

Weight Watchers is all about optimum health.

We have a wellness program at work; Kim Ollis promotes optimum health.

There are a zillion and one web-sites about optimum health.

Either I wasn’t listening or I wasn’t ready! Now I’m wholly ready!

Just gotta say, it’s out there for the taking. There really are no more excuses.

October 1, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

