Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

perfection is not the goal here . . .

So what are some of the essential components of Staying on Track?

1. Staying accountable and being honest with yourself.

2. Acknowledging your achievements and not just taking them for granted.

3. Trying your best but refusing to get all punitive and self-hating when you inevitably screw up.

4. And so not quitting in self-disgust because you screwed up.

5. Then starting over if you do happen to quit in self-disgust despite being told not to.

6. Setting realistic goals and making positive changes gradually and steadily.

7. Accepting that while “All” may be nice, “Some” is better than “None” when it comes to good behavior.

8. Analyzing the triggers for bad behavior and planning to avoid them or minimize their impact in the future.

Note, one important thing about all of these items: They Are All Impossible if You Insist on Perfection!

You will find yourself lying to yourself if your goals are lofty and become inviolable rules in your own mind. You will “forget” to write things down; you will fudge and cheat and you will be psychologically ‘off track’ no matter how well you are actually doing. You will frequently feel disappointed in yourself even when you are objectively doing good things. You won’t praise yourself for your good days because they’re ALL supposed to be good days. You will feel easily discouraged and tempted to just go off the wagon in a big way, because it’s just too hard to be good. And you won’t learn how to minimize problem behaviors if you’re not admitting to them or accepting them as natural and inevitable and part of the process.

This from Cranky Fitness, an interesting, if not a G or PG rated blog that I ran into today.

I identified with lot’s she had to say, and felt a familiar tug when reading about perfection. So many times it’s had to be all or nothing. So many times if I took one little bite of something incredibly delicious and unhealthy, I’d throw in the whole towel for the whole day, for the whole week, for the whole diet! I’d give myself permission to utterly fail. I’d give myself permission to eat everything in sight. I’d give myself permission to gain 5 pounds in two days. Uuggh.

Well. I know that doesn’t make any sense. What I don’t know is how to always think differently [healthier], how to always act differently [healthier], how to always live differently [healthier]. I’m so afraid to [finally] reach my goal and to be on my own and to have more choices and wider boundaries. That’s how I keep getting [gaining my way] back up there. Too many choices.

Dr. Oz says to have three or four standard breakfasts, three or four standard lunches and three or four standard dinners. Don’t give yourself too many choices! That works for me! Anytime I start thinking about more food, I begin to salivate and gleek all over myself! Better to keep it simple, healthy, low key, and safe.

Staying o.n. t.r.a.c.k is the most important thing here. Over time, if I stay on track, there will be good days and bad days but the good days will eventually out-number and out-weigh the other days. Healthy living is still a pain in the butt. But the longer I keep doing it the less of a pain it is. It will probably never, however, be completely easy and automatic. I will always be tempted to slack. Thus I need to know how to stay the course, stay on track, cling to the wagon for the rest of my life.

October 4, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

