Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

let’s turn this ship around!

I just spent the morning reading every single post I’ve written since May 3. Every one of them, in order, from start to finish for the past 5 1/2 months. What a roller coaster. What a bunch of raw emotions surrounding food and food choices. I noticed a pattern of trying to talk myself into doing well, struggling with it, often failing, getting back up, starting over. I noticed how depressed, frustrated, dispirited I was when my weight was way [161] up there or when I let myself/my goals down. I noticed how fantastic I felt each time I reached a mile post, got off a plateau, treated myself well, fed my body healthy food.

So in evaluating this weight-loss experience I have to conclude it’s been successful. I, just this past week, bought three new pair of [Wal-Mart, of course] pants in a smaller size. They are regular, not ‘relaxed’. They fit like a glove! I feel so good.

But.

I saw in my posts that I had reached 149 clear back in June! I had forgotten that! So basically [not even basically, in reality!] it has taken me another 4 months to lose a pound! Ridiculous! I did go back up to 153 during July with trips, camping, the cruise. But got back down to 148 the first part of October and held on to it for a while. [until the licorice episode, which was short lived.]

All of this makes me realize just how hard it is to hold on to weight success. All the stats of people losing weight and not being able to keep it off come to mind. All the new stats of two-thirds of the US being obese. [If you are in a room with three people, chances are that two of you are obese!] All the stats of dying too young because of heart disease, stroke, diabetes and other weight-related deaths are thought provoking, to say the least. [more like ‘compelling!’]

What’s wrong with us as a people? What’s wrong with us as a nation?

Aaccording to a recent ABC News report, obesity in the United States now carries the hefty price tag of $147 billion [Billion with a ‘B’] per year in direct medical costs, just over 10 percent of all medical spending.

In fact, people who are obese spend almost $2,500 more each year on health care — about 41 percent more than an average-weight person. Beyond those costs are the disability and early deaths caused by obesity.

Staggering.

I for one, don’t want to add to the back-breaking load on our government. I know I’m only one. [I know I can’t throw all the starfish back into the ocean] But I can do my part to keep health care costs down. I can do my part to put financial strength back into our country.

Now, if I can just convince the other 307,212,123 people in the USA, we can turn this ship around.

October 11, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

