Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

the envelope, please

and the winner is . . . both of us! A couple of months ago, Mikelle and I started a Biggest Loser contest to see who could lose some weight and feel better. I needed a kick in the pants. I needed some competition and motivation. She gave it to me! Every couple of days we texted our weight to each other and made appropriate and encouraging comments. Some days we had good progress, some days we slipped up. But overall we were pretty consistently heading in the right direction.

I’m making a prediction.

147 is just around the corner for me! [And 135 is just around the corner for Mikelle.] By Thanksgiving and Christmas we’ll both be where we want to be — where we need to be for optimum wellness, for physical wholeness. [Yes, we have lots of other areas to work on for ‘complete wholeness.’ We’ll get to that!]

I’m thinking this weekend I am going to hit 147 — one of the three days. I was 147.5 this morning. And I can just ‘feel’ it coming. Can’t really explain it, but I can feel it! Physically! It’s a feeling of almost hungry, but not quite; and knowing my body is, right this minute, burning fat and eliminating it. Sure, I could give in to the little ‘edgy’ gnawing feeling and have regrets in the morning, or I can breath through it [drink some water and relax] and have great results in the morning. [Our bodies surely aren’t burning fat when we’re eating! It’s not able to! We eat, it stores! We have to stop and pause and let our body put it’s whole self into to burning, restructuring, eliminating.] [It gives new meaning to the phrase,”Give it a rest, would you!?! doesn’t it!]

Things have fallen into place lately. Food is easy. Meals are simple. I LIKE what I’m eating. [Today’s favorite was scrambled eggs and egg whites with salsa, wrapped in a spinach tortilla. Delish! Oh my goodness!] I LIKE healthy food. I don’t have really difficult moments resisting unhealthy foods [right now.] I look forward to exercise. I now view it as something I want to do for myself — for my health, for my future health. That’s such a huge issue for me. It’s something I can’t put off  ’til I’m older and retired. I WANT to do this for myself right now. I can’t even put into words the feelings of self-love, confidence, strength and contentment that has come as a result of taking better care of me. I compare it to how I felt about myself back in May before I began this journey to b.e.t.t.e.r. Back then I only felt self-loathing!

Mikelle said to me yesterday on the phone, “You know how it takes 21 days to change a habit?’ You know how I used to eat huge portions and didn’t really care about nutrition or healthy eating? Well, now I care. Now it comes pretty easy to eat the correct portion size. Now when we go out to dinner, Logan and I share an entre. If I eat something ‘not so healthy’ I make up for it by eating healthy the rest of the day and the next day as well. I feel good. Today I looked so, so cute, Mom. I felt cute, I felt great.” [I’m so happy for her! She is treating herself like she deserves to be treated.]

She continued, “I mean, I’m young! I’m going to enjoy my life. I’m going to enjoy food. I’m not going to deny myself and never eat another piece of pizza with my friends or an ice cream. But I’m going to be smart about it and balance it out with healthy eating the rest of the time.”

Oh my heck! Is she the smartest thing you ever saw?

Oh my goodness. I was one proud mama!

I can see such a huge difference in this beautiful daughter of mine!DSCF1093

October 16, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

