Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

pounds = inches

It’s amazing to me how accurate weight loss is. I’ve heard for years that when you lose weight the healthy way, you will lose almost the same exact amount in inches as you do in pounds. [Seriously, can I really say ‘almost’ and ‘exact’ in the same sentence to describe the very same thing?] This happens when you use these five/six measurements: breast [or chest for guys,] waist, abdomen, hips and thigh. Some people use the arm measurement, as well.

I kept track this time and found the results to be amazing! When I had lost 10 pounds back in June, I had also lost 9 1/2 inches. When I reached the 13 pound mark I had also lost 13 1/2 inches. Both are within a half inch!

Do you find that incredible? I find it incredible!

It happens unless you insists on doing stupid. When you ‘do stupid,’ like using diuretics for a quick weight water loss, of course you aren’t losing fat or inches. You’re just kidding yourself. When you use laxatives, the same happens. When you purge, same results. Temporary weight loss. No inches!

But when eating healthy foods, feeding your body the nutrients it craves, drinking plenty of fluids so that you are adequately hydrated [as opposed to thinking that if you drink water, you’ll have the ‘water weight,’] and getting plenty of exercise and rest, this formula is unfailing.

Umm. Interesting.

Bust was 40, then 38, now 37.5
Waist was 34, then 31, still 31
Abdomen was 40.5, then 36 still 36
Hips were 41, then 38.5 still 38.5
Thigh was 24.75, then 22.75, now 22.25
Arm was 13.5, then 12 now 12

See how I lost a pound and lost an inch? Half an inch on my bust, half an inch on my thigh. [Two and a half inches off my thigh!?! What’s that all ‘aboot?’] [. . . They must have been HUGE!]

Fascinating.


October 17, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

