Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

son-shine

I have such a funny son. He makes me laugh all the time. His conversations seem to be heading in a certain direction and then suddenly a 90-degree turn to the left and the punch line.

I wish I could count all the times he has made me wet my pants. [Not that I enjoy that . . . there’s just been so much uncontrollable laughter that led to it.] And I love laughter! Wait. It’s not a polite giggle. It’s a ginormous belly laugh, a guffaw, a falling-down-and-accidently-soaking-myself laughter! I try to hold it in, I do! As soon as he sees me struggling, he piles on something funnier after he’s already said something uproarious and then it just starts seeping. I have to run to the bathroom, and then to the laundry.

Sometimes I go through a week’s worth of pants in just a couple of hours!

Not only that. Many times the pressure on my insides from all the f.u.n.n.y. makes me toot. I don’t know if it’s from all the air I’m sucking in, in between jokes [trying to breath before I pass out!] or what. But when Scott says something particularly hilarious, I usually involuntarily toot, then wet . . . then simultaneously toot and wet at the same time.

It’s so humiliating.

He gets his inspiration from Jerry Seinfield and Patrick McManus! [Here’s a list of some of Patrick’s very popular books.] You might imagine the level of humor from the titles alone.

A Fine and Pleasant Misery (1978)
They Shoot Canoes, Don’t They? (1981)
Never Sniff a Gift Fish (1981)
The Grasshopper Trap (1985)
Rubber Legs and White Tail-Hairs (1987)
The Night the Bear Ate Goombaw (1989)
Whatchagot Stew (1989)
The Good Samaritan Strikes Again (1992)
How I Got This Way (1994)
Never Cry “Arp!” (1997)
Into the Twilight, Endlessly Grousing (1997)
Kid Camping from Aaaaiii! to Zip (1999)
Real Ponies Don’t Go Oink! (1999)

The Bear in the Attic (2000)
The Deer on a Bicycle (2000)
Kerplunk (2007

For some unknown reason, Scott has me cut his hair a couple-three times a year. Most recently he wanted me to trim it three inches. I thought he meant he wanted it cut to three inches long! Oh my! [It’s growing out nicely.] He said the people at work started asking him if he was sick! He played along with them and said he’s never eaten so well. So many have brought in casseroles and dinners!

Once he was imitating the way I play racquetball. He would awkwardly jump about one inch off the ground, swing at the ball several seconds after it had gone past and then run into the wall. I’d literally fall on the floor laughing my head off. Oh, so many side-aches from too much hilarity!

We’ve had the funniest ongoing conversations the last two weeks about what we’re going to do for Thanksgiving. Tracy has invited us to her house [with some major prompting and begging.] Scott and I have been discussing how we will take care of the majority of the food budget for several days so as to not add to their burden of having to feed extra mouths. And, seriously, we have laughed our heads off over something so simple and silly. For years he’s been making me laugh with “tofurkey,” “facon” and “soysage” jokes, a reference to Tracy’s preference of eating organic. And although Tracy always feeds us very well, it’s a habit we seem to not be in a hurry to get out of. [Pretty sure that’s a dangling participle!]

Andie knows her dad so well! She can keep him in line when the rest of us don’t have a chance. She melts his heart. [She melts all of our hearts!] On the way here during their three-hour drive, she said, “Dad, tell me a funny story!” She know exactly what he’s made of.

3838945702_981a92567c

DSC05627.JPG

3929865501_b84d90bd46

 

Everyone knows laughter is the best medicine! Humor is infectious. The sound of roaring laughter is far more contagious than any cough, sniffle, or sneeze. [I’m going out on a limb here, but I’m thinking even more contagious than H1N1!] When laughter is shared, it binds us together and increases our happiness and intimacy. In addition to the domino effect of joy and amusement, laughter also triggers healthy physical changes in our body. Humor and laughter strengthen our immune system, boost our energy, diminish pain, and protect us from the damaging effects of stress. Best of all, this priceless medicine is free.

Laughter is a powerful antidote to stress, pain, and conflict. Nothing works faster or more dependably to bring our mind and body back into balance than a good laugh. Humor lightens our burdens, inspires hopes, connects us to others, and keeps us grounded, focused, and alert.

With so much power to heal and renew, the ability to laugh easily and frequently is a tremendous resource for surmounting problems, strengthening relationships and supporting both physical and emotional health.

Physical Health Benefits:

  • Boosts immunity
  • Lowers stress hormones
  • Decreases pain
  • Relaxes our muscles
  • Prevents heart disease

Mental Health Benefits:

  • Adds joy and zest to life
  • Eases anxiety and fear
  • Relieves stress
  • Improves mood
  • Enhances resilience

Social Benefits:

  • Strengthens relationships
  • Attracts others to us
  • Enhances teamwork
  • Helps defuse conflict
  • Promotes group bonding

Scott and Andie have been here all weekend and I have laughed! I have shrieked, I have giggled and I have peed! Want a ‘for-instance?’ We decided on the spur of the moment to run to Ogden to see a movie, eat out and do some shopping. We walked into the movie [Amelia] and after a few minutes of taking in the situation, Scott observed, “I don’t want to scare you but I’m the second youngest person in here. [Granddaughter, Andie, was the youngest, at age 13.] Sure enough, we looked around and the theatre held about twenty couples all over the age of seventy! So when the screen asked us to tun off all cell phones, Scott added “and pacemakers!” I thought I’d die!

If laughter triggers the release of endorphins, the body’s natural feel-good chemicals, I’m here to tell ya, my endorphins have had a total acquittance! My endorphins have been liberated!

November 1, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

