Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

the ‘normal’ line

Tracy said to me during my recent visit to her house, “I just can’t even imagine weighing myself every single day!”

Me? Just the opposite. I can’t imagine too many days of not weighing. I gauge what I’m going to eat during the day, depending on how much I weighed that morning. [after bathroom, before eating] I decide whether or not I need to exercise.

Granted, this is when I’m in a phase of caring how I feel, how I look. There’ve been many a season when I didn’t have a handle on it and I weighed, cursed at myself, told myself how much I hated me, and ate everything in sight anyway!

Tracy is more normal than I am in this area. She’s not obsessed. She more secure in herself. She is in her weight range and a size 8! She eats a lot! But she’s nursing. If I ate what she does on a daily basis, I’d be right back at 176 in a minute! She never weighs. [That’s why her scales are in the bathroom drawer.]

Twice, Twice I’ve totally disrobed at work and weighed myself. Five more times and it will be a bad habit I’ll not be able to easily break!

This is one of the things I’m going to ask God about when I get to the other side. “How come I didn’t get in the ‘normal’ line when they were handing out personalities before I was born?”

Was there a sign? Did I just not see it? Was I distracted? Did they trick me by putting an all you can eat ice cream place nearby?

Seriously.

November 18, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

