Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

day after

One down, one to go.

Thanksgiving was wonderful, with family, food, friends and fun galore. It continues today with movies and [very little] shopping. I’m through with Black Friday frenzy and all that goes with crazed shopping, but I might go to Porters or JoAnn’s later today for some pillowcase flannel and some watch faces.

The meal, itself, was not my Mother’s Thanksgiving. She always had much, much more! We had the basics but didn’t have a relish tray, yams, cranberry sauce or green bean casserole. The two turkey breasts, yummy stuffing, mashed potatoes with lots of the skins left on, gravy and green salad were plenty. Right as we were sitting down, we realized we’d forgotten the vegetable. To end the meal Andie made her famous key lime pie topped with real whipping cream. And we had pumpkin and caramel-apple pies too. [I can’t believe I had two slices of pie after eating so carefully all day long!]

It was fun to go around the table and talk about what we are grateful for. Some didn’t feel comfortable contributing, but I had a few moments to think about things that matter most to me. The only thing that would have made the day more perfect would have been to have beautiful daughter, Mikelle, there. I believe it’s been 20 years of Thanksgivings, and this is the first without having her there to brighten everything around. It would have been lovely, as well, to have Cam with us.

Now, it seems, overnight, we are thrust into holiday shopping, rushing, spending, and trying to get something just right for just the right price. I swear, sometimes I spend more money trying to save a few dollars than I would if I just ignored all the hype and coupons, and buy-one-get-one-free slogans. For example, I just looked online at Bath and Body Works and saw a fabulous deal! $107 dollars of VIP [Very Impressive Products] for only $15 with a $40 purchase. But I would save at least $55 if I don’t go there at all. I opted for the second.

I want to relax, have fun, look at all the crazy people and bask in the glory of not having to get anything today, but knowing I can if I want! There was a day back when, when I did do the crazy and had fun, but I’m at a different place now. More laid back. Less willing to fight the crowds.

Last night my sis called to ask if I was going to Wal-Mart this morning at 4:00 am. If I was, would I mind getting a TV for Tori and Joe? Oh, my, No. I can’t imagine standing in line for one of their ten TV’s and fighting over it with a big guy who could knock me over with morning breath.

I have three words for everyone today. SIM.PLI.FY!

PS. I weighed this morning on Tracy’s scale that is three pounds off. I was 139 -140. So that means I’m still right in there at 142-143. [sigh!]

November 27, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

