Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

the best medicine

From America Heritage Dictionary

cach·in·nate audio (kk-ntKEY

intr.v.
cach·in·nat·edcach·in·nat·ingcach·in·nates

To laugh hard, loudly, or convulsively; guffaw.

Ok. I promised Scott I wouldn’t go into detail and tell the whole world in blogland the content of what we talked about but I’ll just say I have been laughing for 24 hours straight. My cheeks hurt. My rib cage hurts. My endorphins are up there in the clouds! He is so dang hilarious. Every time I [manage to] remember what was so funny, I start laughing again. Laughter. .. the gift that keeps on giving! Laughter makes me feel good. And the good feeling I get when I laugh remains even after the laughter subsides. Humor helps me keep a positive, optimistic outlook.

Scott and Andie came for the weekend and we went to Ogden together. There, I attended my brother-sister Christmas party [more about that later] and we did some shopping. On the way down he was his usual [very Jerry Seifeld-like] bantering, mildly sarcastic, cleverly-amusing self, making fun of things I said and saying things that made me scream out loud. I’m telling you, I was laying-on-the-floorboards-laughing!

Humor is infectious. The sound of roaring laughter is far more contagious than any cough, sniffle, or sneeze. When laughter is shared, it binds people together and increases happiness and friendship. In addition to the domino effect of joy and amusement, laughter also triggers healthy physical changes in the body. Humor and laughter strengthen the immune system, boosts energy, diminish pain, and protects from the damaging effects of stress. Best of all, this priceless medicine is fun, free, and easy to use.

Everyone should have a Scott.

OK. I’ll just relate this one little thing that was so stinking uproarious it had me guffawing all over myself.

We were talking about 2012 — the year the Myans seem to think the world will end. [Not that funny yet, right?] According to their calendar the world should be gearing up and counting down to this mysterious — some even call it apocalyptic — date that ancient Mayan societies were anticipating thousands of years ago. Experts disagree about what humankind should expect on Dec. 21, 2012, when the Maya’s “Long Count” calendar marks the end of a 5,126-year era.

Anyway.

According to Scott, this Mayan calendar-maker guy must have been standing for days, months even, hammering in stone [for Pete’s sake] and he was ready for a break! He was worn out and shaking his tired hands and thinking to himself “That should be enough for now . .. let somebody else finish this in 500 years.”

I thought I’d die!

December 13, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

