Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

triggers

Oh my goodness. Triggers. I’m getting so many of them.

I’ve thought for a while about trying to explain them. You know how in the bible it says Abraham begat Isaac; and Isaac begat Jacob; and Jacob begat Judas and his brethren; And Judas begat Phares and Zara of Thamar; and Phares begat Esrom.

Well, I’m here to tell you that food begets food. Candy begets candy, chips beget chips, Hershey’s chocolate kisses beget Hershey’s chocolate kisses. I could go on and on. Believe me.

If I have just one bite of candy, chips, kisses or numerous other foods, I want to eat them all day long! I can’t get enough of them! And I can’t stop.

So, better I don’t put even one bite in my mouth. It’s all or nothing for me! I hate it!

Wednesday I went to work early [5 am] and someone had put some Christmas Chex mix in the teacher’s lounge. You know the one with coconut, sliced almonds, Karo syrup. Wow. I took a moderate bowl full but not too much. About twenty minutes later I took an even bigger bowl full. Then my third trip to the teacher’s lounge before 6 am netted me a huge bowl, heartburn and the extra two pounds I’ve been fighting for two days.[My pants are so tight I can hardly breath! I feel like I have a tourniquet on my thighs!]

Check Mix begets Chex Mix. If I just hadn’t taken that first bite  . . .

2 small boxes of Rice Chex
2 stick of butter (don’t use margarine)
1 cup of sugar
1 cup of Karo corn syrup (light)
1 cup of shredded coconut
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1-2 tsp of coconut extract

In a large mixing bowl combine the cereal, coconut and almonds.
Mix sugar, corn syrup and butter in saucepan. on medium-high, until the butter has melted. Continue cooking mixture at a rolling boil, stirring constantly, for 3 minutes. Remove pan from heat and add the coconut extract. It will sizzle! Pour sugar mixture over cereal mixture and mix well.

I swear! It’s poison!

I can go all day long and not have a problem. I can think healthy, eat healthy. I can be on top of everything. I can have ‘super powers.’ I can absolutely do great and feel great. I can love myself!

One bite. I’m gonners.

I want so much to be like other people who have a bite of something and then go back to normal. My friend Becky is like that. She doesn’t starve. She doesn’t binge. She doesn’t crave. She doesn’t stuff. She takes a bite, says “MMMmmmm that’s delish,” and goes back to sipping her water and eating normal. She just turned 50 and she’s gorgeous! She’s about a size 6-7. Her mother, Carol, and her daughter, Andra, are all the same. Never had an eating problem. Never had a weight problem!

People say to  me, “Oh, just try it. One little bite isn’t going to hurt you!”  If they only knew.

So that’s why I say, have plenty of good healthy raw foods around for snacking. Eat 7-9 fruits and veggies every single day. Fill up on water. Watch out for salt and hidden sugar. Eat protein and fiber for breakfast. Manage your enviroment. Know your stressors. Know your triggers!

And don’t ever, ever, ever buy another 5-pound bag of pistachios at Sam’s Club!

December 18, 2009 - Posted by | Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

