Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

Week’s End

I’m at Mikelle’s. It’s early in the morning and the house is still. She’s sound asleep in her room, resting for her big day. This afternoon she will become Mrs. Logan T. Hull. She will begin a new page in her Eternity.

Yesterday on my way to Utah a thought struck me with such clarity, such pureness of knowledge. It’s as though heaven whispered to me, “I did all you asked. I finished all you’ve prayed for.”

I realized at that moment how totally choreographed the last year and a half has been. I recognized things have happened that had no other possible explanation except they were directed by a loving Heavenly Father. I knew in an instant He is aware and cares and hears and loves and knows.

If Mikelle hadn’t moved here a few months earlier than originally planned [summer ’08] she would have never had her job at Angie’s Restaurant. She would have never met Kim, who was on a date with Logan. He would have never noticed her. He would have never called her. If she hadn’t been prompted by heaven [and her mother, sister and cousin] to really take a look at this great guy she wouldn’t have recognized all his qualities that make a good husband, a good partner, a good father. If things had not progressed the way they did, Mikelle would not have seen the Lord’s hand in her life. If things hadn’t gone as they did, on the Lord’s timetable, Mikelle wouldn’t be exchanging vows this afternoon with her family witnessing.

Looking backwards. Observing. Seeing clearly.

Blessings.

Peace.

Love.

Joy.

Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

I know God hears and answers prayers in a way we, as mere mortals, can often only appreciate long after those prayers are said. I don’t know how many nights I cried myself to sleep after being driven to my knees for this precious daughter. I don’t know how many times my faith was shaken when I didn’t see immediate results for my pleading.

But now I see that He was there all along. His wisdom is far greater than my own. His answers are eternal.

Once again, thank you, Lord, for all my blessings.

Amen.

January 10, 2010 - Posted by | Blessings!, Weight just a minute

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

