Weighing Matters

my journey to b.e.t.t.e.r

spirits up, weight down

I feel like a dang teeter-totter! My emotions are wacko, my weight is wacko and my brain is, you guessed it. I must be going through my second menopause or something . . . I have no other explanation. I’m craving chocolate [but am able to resist it the last several days,] I’m not sleeping well, I’m freezing cold, and have a sore throat. My immune system is probably not what it should be. I had two huge pimples erupt on my face last week just minutes after the candy bar incident, but they are gone now. And I was up those 2-3 pounds, but am back down to 141. I can feel my spirit strengthening and I’m more in the mood to pray. I’ve eaten completely healthy for two days in a row. Lots of fresh fruit and veggies, whole grains, skim milk [I even bought some coconut milk, Camille!] eggs, plain yogurt, healthy nuts and berries, and vitamins. My insides are getting much better, thank you.

Wow.

What a learning experience! Hopefully I’ve got this figured out by now. I read this great quote and it seems to fit.

“I think forgiveness may be the greatest virtue on earth, and certainly the most needed. There is so much of meanness and abuse, of intolerance and hatred. There is so great a need for repentance and forgiveness. It is the great principle emphasized in all of scripture, both ancient and modern. Somehow forgiveness, with love and tolerance, accomplishes miracles that can happen in no other way.–Gordon B. Hinckley, “Forgiveness,” Ensign, Nov. 2005, 81

Now, go make a difference!

Live Well, Love Life!

February 1, 2010 Posted by | Weight just a minute | Leave a comment

eilinus maginnis

My sister Eileen is rather famous. I’ve known it for years. But the older I get, the more I realize and recognize just how true that is.

You may not know her. But plenty of people do. It seems wherever I am, if I meet someone from any of the 13 towns in Star Valley WY, they inevitably know her well, know of her, or have only heard of her and want to meet her

She’s famous for her integrity, her kindness, her gentle spirit, her honesty, her goodness, her hard work and leadership, her teaching and of course, her cooking.

She has five boys and two girls, all grown, all responsible and incredibly decent people in their own right.

Just the other day, [again!] I met someone from SV and asked, “Do you know Eileen Hale?” He started to cry!!!! He said,”Oh my gosh, she is the most wonderful person I have ever known. In my entire life!!!”

I was amazed. I’m over being stunned, but I was still, simply amazed.

She makes me proud.

When we were growing up I was quite jealous of her. She was so much like my Mother. She cooked and sewed beautifully. She was popular and sweet and perfect, and, well, I wasn’t. Her nickname was Lambie Pie. Yup. Me? Dorabell!

But right now, right this minute I’m so happy to be her sister. I’m honored to share her family name and to have wonderful memories of us as we grew older, had families of our own and similar interests.

Blessings to you, Sister.

February 1, 2010 Posted by | Weight just a minute | Leave a comment